Library Blog

Wolfram Alpha Gives You Data

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

We all love Google, but there are other really great Internet search engines out there.

Nearly 60,000 Visits Last Fiscal Year

Thursday, July 9, 2015

RTC Library had 59,732 patron visits last fiscal year, between July, 2014 and June, 2015.

2015 Break and Summer Hours at RTC Library

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

The library will be opening at 10 AM and closing at 2 PM, from Friday, June 26 through Thursday, July 2. We will be closed on Friday, July 3, in observance of the July 4th holiday. 

Dinosaurs in the Library!

Thursday, June 18, 2015

In the news this week:  Dinosaurs Avoided the Equator (See “Why Did the Dinosaur Cross the Equator But Choose Not to Live There” In: Targeted News Service. 16 June 2015.  Via RTC database ProQuest.)  Want to know more about Dinosaurs?  RTC has videos, novels, movies, and many non-fiction books you can look at.

New! Computers in silent study room

Friday, June 12, 2015

RTC library has added computers to one of its Silent Study rooms.  Students who work best in a quiet environment can now take computer tests or work on classwork in a quieter room. (Classwork has priority on these computers.)  Come see our new computers today.

Free Training on Microsoft Products!

Thursday, June 4, 2015

You can't find a better price than free, can you? 

No Address? Computer Science Has A Three Word Answer.

Friday, May 29, 2015

Billions of people on Earth have no address, not even one your local librarian could help you find. A start-up called What3words is working to fix that.

New Book: The Billionaire's Chef

Friday, May 22, 2015

"Cooking for the Rich and Famished."

Memorial Day 2015 Hours and More

Friday, May 15, 2015

The library will be closed on Memorial Day, Monday, May 25 with reduced hours on other days.

New Book: The Essentials of Job Negotiations

Tuesday, May 5, 2015

Negotiating your salary and benefits can be the most difficult part of starting a new job. This book looks at preparing for these negotiations, managing trade-offs and concessions, negotiating via email, and dealing with special circumstances like bad economies and family issues. Research-backed and readable. You can find it at 650.144 KURTZBE 2011.