RTC Announces Winter 2016 Foundation Scholarship Recipients

  • Published Wednesday, December 16, 2015

RENTON, Wash. – The Renton Technical College (RTC) Foundation is pleased to announce recipients for its winter scholarships.

Founded in 1993, the RTC Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to changing the lives of RTC students by supporting career training, educational advancement and program success at Renton Technical College. The Foundation has established many different funds to support student needs. These scholarships are funded by RTC supporters who want to give every RTC student the chance to succeed.

Scholarships are awarded every fall, winter, and spring, and are open to any currently enrolled RTC student. Recipients are chosen based on their academic merit and compelling personal story. Information on foundation scholarships can be found here.

We are honored to support these 37 students as they complete their education and begin their career. The winter 2016 scholarship recipients are as follows:

Allied Health Scholarship

Kyli Elza – Registered Nurse
Santhoshima Karthikeyan– Massage Therapy

The Board of Trustees Scholarship

Patrick Spreen - Welding

The Boeing Company Scholarship

Ahmed Mahdi – Engineer Design Technology (EDT)
Michael Nollette – Computer Science
Devin Pfeninger – Welding
Habibullah Qalandary – EDT
Yuliya Zhuk – Computer Science
Ekaterina Zvereva – Construction Management

Columbia Bank Scholarship

Margery Lewis – Administrative Office Management (AOM)
Olivia Malietufa – AOM/ Entrepreneurship & Small Business Management

Commercial Building Engineering (CBE) Scholarship

Edward Lutcavich – CBE

Early Childhood Careers (ECC) Scholarship

Alexis Alexander – ECC
Nu Helen Lu – ECC
Maria Sandoval – ECC

RTC Foundation Scholarship

Demitri Armstrong – Welding
Steven Burge – EDT
Luis Guillen – Automotive Maintenance
Annalise Heverly – Registered Nurse
Brittney Kelly-Stowe – Registered Nurse
Oleg Poshchuk – Computer Science
Eleanore Saechao – Computer Network Technology
Elizabeth Slenning – AOM, Entrepreneurship & Small Business Management
Jordan Tasca – Computer Science

Leona Hickman Educational Trust Scholarship

Sharalaina Piro-Rael – Band Instrument Repair
Roxanne Stansberry – Land Surveying Technician

The Muckleshoot Scholarship

Katheryne Faber – Professional Baking

The O.J. Harper Memorial Scholarship

Michael Ehlen – Precision Machining
John Lenertz – Precision Machining

The Ronald B. Fahey Memorial Scholarship

Ian Smith – Automotive Maintenance

Rottler Manufacturing Scholarship

Peter Nguyen – Precision Machining
Michael Soden – Precision Machining

The Steve Hanson Student Leadership Scholarship

Mohamed Abdullahi – Computer Science
Nochtal Balzer – Computer Science
Michael Jolley – MART
Mahlon Otero – Computer Science

RTC Transforming Lives Scholarship

Angel Mitchell – AOM
(Honorable Mention) Edward Lutcavich – CBE

For more information on how to support student scholarships, contact the Foundation at 425.235.7867 or foundation@rtc.edu.


Direct all media inquiries to:

Renton Technical College Foundation
Phone:  (425) 235-7867
Email: foundation@rtc.edu